NMSU Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is the voice of the NMSU Faculty and plays a critical role in the shared governance of the institution. As established in NMSU Policy, the Faculty Senate has legislative jurisdiction over policies affecting the university’s academic mission. The Faculty Senate has 60 elected senators who represent Faculty from the Colleges on the main campus, the NMSU Library, the Agricultural Experiment Station, the Cooperative Extension Service, and College Faculty. Senators are elected for three-year terms and may serve for two consecutive terms. The Senate is led by the Chair and Vice-Chair, who both serve on a variety of University committees and councils, which are also policy making bodies. The Chair and Vice-Chair are advised by the Senate Leadership Committee which is comprised of the senior senators from each electing group. All senators participate in one of four standing committees. These are charged with reviewing, modifying, and recommending legislation for action by the full senate. The senate meets a minimum of once a month to fulfill its obligations in a timely manner.

Becky Corran, Faculty Senate Chair

Becky Corran is a first-generation college graduate and tenured Associate Professor of Public Health at Doña Ana Community College.  Since August of 2016, she has also served as the Department Chair for Humanities and Social Sciences, a department that includes sixteen disciplines and over 60 full and part time faculty. As a faculty member, she teaches courses related to personal and community health, health education, ethics and research. She has taught online and in-person, in the Aggie Pathway Program, and at three different DACC campuses, and has served as a board member and President of the New Mexico Association of Career and Technical Education.

As a Faculty Senator, Becky sponsored a number of propositions, including to increase community college faculty representation in the senate, for the academic reorganizations of three community campuses, as well as a memorial in support of students at risk for deportation.  She also served as the chair of the Senate’s Faculty Affairs committee, helping to revise the Promotion and Tenure policy (5.86-5.91) and pass updates to the Faculty Credentials (5.14).  Becky served several years as Vice-Chair of the NMSU Institutional Review Board, and in 2017-18 joined NMSU’s efforts to build Living and Learning Communities within the residence halls, as the Faculty-in-Residence in Garcia hall (along with about 800 first-year students.)

Becky’s time at NMSU/DACC has been focused on building relationships between NMSU and the community colleges; she has been a consistent advocate for faculty’s role in shared governance, while working collegially across boundaries and growing relationships with students, faculty and staff on all of NMSU’s campuses.


Mary Prentice, Faculty Senate Vice-Chair

Mary Prentice is an associate professor in the former Educational Leadership and Administration (ELA) department (now combined with teacher and special education in the new School of Teacher Preparation, Administration and Leadership). She has been at NMSU for 15 years, serving as doctoral director for three years and department head for four years. She is a Quality Matters online peer reviewer and teaches online and face-to-face undergraduate, masters, and doctoral level classes.

Mary is starting her second three-year term as the senior Faculty Senator for the College of Education. She has served on the Faculty Affairs, Scholastic Affairs, and Long Range Planning committees and on the Faculty Grievance Board. In her role as Faculty Senate Vice-Chair, she is eager to play a role in representing faculty in shared governance with NMSU’s new leadership team.


The Ceremonial Mace

The ceremonial mace, used widely by universities, is a descendant of the royal scepter and the medieval battle mace. The university is incorporated into the design. The ornament atop the mace signifies a blooming cactus flower and the university’s blooming maturity. The smooth, rounded walls of adobe architecture are reflected in the next section, while a disk carries the New Mexico State University logo on one side and a compatible Mimbres pottery design on the other. The many academic disciplines are noted in the bundled rods of the shaft. The meter-long piece is of sterling silver, while the center of the shaft holds a piece of wood from the university’s first building, McFie Hall (Old Main), which burned in 1910. Literal and symbolic information about the academic mace signifies authority, and its use dates from the 14th century. New Mexico State University’s mace is carried at commencement and other formal occasions by the president of the Faculty Senate.