NMSU Faculty Senate Leadership Committee (FSLC) AGENDA September 26, 2024, 4:00 p.m. Zoom (<u>https://nmsu.zoom.us/j/86052805269</u>) and MH 185J

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Recognition of Guests
- 3. Approval of Agenda
- 4. Approval of Minutes of 29 August 2024 meeting (Attached)

5. Reports on Legislation

- 1. 01-24/25 Proposal for name change of the Department of Government to the Department of Political Science, Public Law and Administration. Sponsors = Thaddieus Conner (A&S), Timothy Cleveland (A&S), Jamie Bronstein (A&S), Chris Erickson (CoB), Neil Harvey (A&S), Shofiqur Rahman (CoB), & William Walker (A&S). Handled as Consent on 9.5.24 Senate meeting.
- 02-24/25 Proposal to repeal the Amended Senate Bylaws passed at the 5.2.4 Senate meeting. Sponsors = Chris Erickson (COB), Tawny Aguirre (DACC), Faruk Arslan (CoB), Nathan Brooks, (A&S), Christopher Brown (A&S), Thaddieus Conner (A&S), Kristian Finlator (A&S), Dylan McDonald (Library), John Sandstrom (Library), William Walker (A&S), and others to follow. Handled as emergency legislation at 9.5.24 Senate meeting, Bill passed, and we revert to Bylaws approved by the Senate in May of 2021.
- 3. 03-24/25 Clarifying Exceptions to Final Exam Requirements in ARP 4.50. Sponsors K. Finlator (A&S); J. Burchett (A&S), M. Burkardt (A&S); and M. Prescott (A&S). Assigned to Curriculum and Programming Standing Committee

6. Proposed Legislation

1. 04-24/25 – Bill Clarifying data points on Senate Bill 07-23/24, "Call for NMSU leadership to establish a fund for open access article publishing/processing charges for tenured, tenure-eligible, and non-tenure-track faculty, research scientists, research scholars, research center directors, and librarians." Sponsors – J. Sandstrom (NTT), K Finlator (A&S), and F Arslan (CoB).

7. Other Business

- a. Discussion and approval of Faculty Senate Agenda for 10.3.24 Senate meeting
- **b.** Standing Committees Reports
 - Budget and Resources Chair, Stephen Hanson
 - University Planning Committee Chair, Erik Lehnhoff
 - Curriculum and Programming Chair, Gustavo Pina
 - Research and Creative Activity Chair, Paul Tian
 - Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Chair, Karen Kopera-Frye
 - Student Success Chair, Tawny Aguirre
- **c.** Update on discussions with Robbie Grant on CHEGG Vice Chair Brown and Senator Aguirre

8. Remarks and Announcements

- FS Chair Vimal Chaitanya
- FS Vice-Chair / SLC Chair, Christopher Brown

9. Adjournment