Proposition: 11-20/21

Title: A revision to the Faculty Senate standing committees, including changes to the Faculty Senate constitution

Date Submitted: 01/22/2021

Sponsor(s): James McAteer (A&S), Richard Pratt (ACES), Stephen Hanson (ACES), Christopher Brown (A&S), Anne Hubbell (A&S), Michael Mapp (A&S), David Clement (BUS), Heike Lehnert-Lehouillier (EDU), Paul Andersen (ENG), Steven Stochaj (ENG), Lori Saiki (HSS), Cheryle Butterfield (CES), Jamil Al-Nouman (NMSU-C), Martha McCaslin (DACC), Amy Zemler (NTT), James Rice (A&S), David Ortiz Canseco (A&S)

Proposed Committee: LRP

Assigned Committee:

Prior Approvals: None

Proposal Type (please check one):

□Memorial

□Proposition to change policy (please include ARP/RPM reference(s) from https://arp.nmsu.edu/)

 \Box Proposition for curriculum addition/change (please include all curriculum change forms and signature pages as outlined here: <u>https://provost.nmsu.edu/forms/</u>) \boxtimes Other (please describe below)

This in an internal Senate matter. The prosed changes in the Faculty Senate constitution will be sent to all-faculty for a vote after it clears the Senate. A second proposition will detail proposed changes to the Faculty Senate by laws. A summary of these can be found in the attached document.

Proposal:

To make the proposed alterations to the Faculty Senate constitution as provided in the attached document.

Rationale:

The NMSU faculty should play an enhanced and integrated role in shared governance. By altering the Senate standing committee structure to 6 committees, we become more aligned to existing university structures, we make the Faculty Senate into a more proactive body, we can act more rapidly in cases when quick action is required, and we enhance communication across all levels.