NMSU Faculty Senate

May 1, 2025; 4:00 p.m.

Zoom

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Approval of Agenda
- 3. Recognition of Guests
- 4. Caucusing by Continuing and Incoming Senators only
 - Chairs of Senate Standing Committees (2025-2026)
 - Representatives to Faculty Senate Leadership Committee (2025-2026)
 - Chair of Faculty Senate Leadership Committee (2025-2026)

For the following agenda, Incoming Senators are not eligible to vote

- 5. Approval of Minutes of 3 April 2025, meeting
- 6. Reports of Officers

FS Chair, Vimal Chaitanya FS Vice-Chair, Christopher Brown 03 Minutes

03 Minutes

7. Reports of Standing Committees

18 Minutes

- Budget and Resources Chair, Stephen Hanson
- University Planning Char, Erik Lehnhoff
- Curriculum and Planning Chair, Gustavo Piña
- Research and Creative Activity Chair, Paul Tian
- Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Chair, Karen Kopera-Frye
- Student Success Chair, Tawny Aguirre
- 8. New Business- NONE

9. Unfinished Business-

05 Minutes

- Proposition 11-24/25 Amendment to the Faculty Senate Constitution. Sponsor (s): Erickson (CoB), Walker (Extension), Hanson (ACES), Badawy (ENG). Proposition was assigned to University Planning Committee, where it received a "do pass as amended", and the Full Senate passed amended language at the April Senate meeting. Now, this is headed to NMSU faculty approval.
- Proposition 12-24/25 Task force to assess and reconsider faculty performance and promotion & tenure evaluation criteria in light of recent cuts to federal funding and reduction in IDC rate. Sponsor(S): Glenn Duff (College of Agricultural, Consumer, and Environmental Sciences), Erik Lehnhoff (College of Agricultural, Consumer, and Environmental Sciences), Kellie Sharp-Hoskins (College of Arts and Sciences). Proposition was assigned to Research & Creative Activity Committee, where it received a "do pass as amended." and Full Senate will consider this at May meeting.
- **Proposition 13-24/25** Bill in support of policy related to grade change for graduate students, moving forward in the policy review process. Sponsor (s): Brown (A&S),

Badawy (ENG), Chaitanya (ENG), DeBlieck (HEST), Hanson (ACES), Kopera-Frye (HEST), Lehnhoff (ACES), Lopez-Gallagher (NMSU-A), and others to follow. Proposition was assigned to Student Success Committee, where it received a "do pass as amended," and Full Senate will consider this at May meeting.

10. Other Business –

11. Remarks and Announcements

a. FS Chair, Vimal Chaitanya

02 Minutes

b. FS Vice-Chair / SLC Chair, Christopher Brown

02 Minutes

12. Adjournment