#### FINAL AGENDA

## NMSU Faculty Senate Leadership Committee (FSLC) February 27, 2025

# Zoom (https://nmsu.zoom.us/j/86052805269) and Hadley 130

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Recognition of Guests
- 3. Approval of Agenda
- 4. Approval of Minutes of 30 January 2025 meeting (Posted to Website)
- 5. Reports on Legislation (posted to Website)
  - <u>Proposition 09-24/25</u> Memorial in Appreciation of Dr. Monica Torres for Serving as Interim President. Sponsor(s): T. Aguirre (DACC), K. Lopez-Gallagher (NMSU-A), C. Brown (A&S), O. Holguin (ACES), V. Chaitanya (Engineering), S. Hanson (ACES), M. Darapuneni (ACES), K. Grover (ACES), E. Lehnhoff (ACES), G.Duff (ACES), J. Hunter (A & S), J. Cook (A & S) J. Dalager (A & S), L. Hermanson (A & S), T. Conner (A & S), J. Bronstein (A & S), R. Obregon (A & S), K. Finlator (A & S), T. Cleveland (A & S), H. Baek (A & S), A. Ashley (A & S), I. Hanson (A & S), W. Walker (A & S), M. Furuhashi (A & S), H. Hampton (A & S), K.T. Manis (Bus), C. Erickson (Bus), F. Arslan (Bus), R. Rahman (Bus), Z. Shen (Bus), O. Bello (Engineering), M. Elshinawy (Engineering), R. Li (Engineering), H. Badawy (Engineering), R. Jayaraman (Engineering), T. Manz (Engineering), K. Kopera-Frye (HEST), L. Saiki (HEST), S. Lynch (HEST), J. Tomaka (HEST), J. Rice (HEST), C. DeBlieck (HEST), P. Smoak (HEST), F. Boutsen (HEST), W. Stem (HEST), D. Magoc (HEST), S. Walker (CES), S. Gordan (CES), K. Knight (CES), E. Gamboa (DACC), T. Price (DACC), G. Pina (DACC), L. Grant (DACC), T. Allred (Alamogordo CC), K. Lopez-Gallagher (Alamogordo CC), A. Romero (Grants CC), S. Elliss (NTT), M. Burkardt (NTT), R. Schumacher (NTT), R. Gioannini (NTT), C. Anaya (NTT), J. Sandstrom (NTT), D. Overstreet (NTT), I. Villicana Pedraza (NTT), E. Hetrick (NTT)

Sponsors requested the Senate to consider this as Emergency Legislation.

Senate vote passed this as Emergency Legislation at the 6 February 2025 Faculty Senate meeting.

- Proposition 10-24/25- Proposal for name change from the "Department of Civil Engineering" to the "Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering." Sponsor(s): Runwei Li (College of Engineering), Michaela Buenemann (College of Art and Science), Christopher Erickson (College of Business), Tawny Aguirre (Doña Ana Community College), Dylan McDonald (Library), Omar Holguin (College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences), Geoffrey Smith (College of Art and Science), Kristian Finlator (College of Art and Science), Jiayi Wang (College of Health, Education and Social Transformation), and Christopher Brown (College of Art and Science).
  - Assigned to Curriculum and Planning who discussed the bill at the 2.13.25 meeting.
- 6. Proposed Legislation NONE
- 7. Other Business

- a. Discussion of items for Faculty Senate Agenda for 3.6.25 Full Senate meeting
- **b.** Standing Committees Reports
  - Budget and Resources Chair, Stephen Hanson
  - University Planning Committee Chair, Erik Lehnhoff
  - Curriculum and Planning Chair, Gustavo Pina
  - Research and Creative Activity Chair, Paul Tian
  - Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Chair, Karen Kopera-Frye
  - Student Success Chair, Tawny Aguirre
- c. Update from the Open Access Publication Fund Advisory Committee (Brown and Sandstrom)
- d. Report on data analysis to determine if Senate Seats need to be re-apportioned (Brown)
- e. Other comments from members

### 8. Remarks and Announcements

- FS Chair Vimal Chaitanya
- FS Vice-Chair / SLC Chair, Christopher Brown

## 9. Adjournment