NMSU Faculty Senate Meeting

September 7, 2023; 4:00 p.m. Milton 85 and Zoom

MINUTES

1. Call to Order - Meeting called to order at 4:03 p.m.

2. Recognition of Guests

Hannah Melick, Chief Steward, GWU Graduate Worker Union's Progress

Prior to the presentation, FS Chair Fasenko asked the zoom audience if there were any faculty on the zoom call that serve on the negotiating team for NMSU and the response was "No."

- Over the last year the Graduate Workers Union has been bargaining and they won their first contract in December. The contract included 6.8% raise in wages, two covered credits of tuition, and a grievance process should they find themselves in an unsafe or uncomfortable environment.
- In their view, the University has not been upholding their end of the deal regarding the 2 credit scholarship rollout. The former Chancellor, Dan Arvizu, sent out a communication to the entire graduate community saying it would be delivered to graduate workers by mid-February; that wasn't the case.
- They have been back at the table since May and are now negotiating on tuition coverage specifically.
- The graduate worker is responsible for a myriad of duties. They bring in grant funding, conduct studies, serve the local communities, and share robust science and research.
- If NMSU hopes to achieve R1 research status it must demonstrate that it cares about its staff, including the graduate workers.
- Through collective partnering we can solve this problem. We can work with the university to achieve these values that we all have.
- Hannah asked the faculty for their support to work together and to support their GAs.
- They are having a Town Hall on September 15, in O'Donnell Hall, Rm 104 at 5:30 p.m., interested faculty are welcome to join.
- GWU email: nmsugwu@nmsu.edu and website: https://nmsugrads.ueunion.org/

3. Approval of Agenda

Moved and seconded to approve agenda. Agenda approved.

4. Appointment of Parliamentarian and Recording Secretary

Moved and seconded to appoint Lawrence LaPlue as 2023-2024 FS Parliamentarian Faculty Senate approved appointment.

Moved and seconded to appoint Gloria Podruchny as 2023-202 Recording Secretary Faculty Senate approved appointment.

5. Approval of Minutes of May 4, 2023 meeting

Moved and seconded to approve minutes.

Minutes approved as submitted.

6. Reports of Officers

FS Chair, Gaylene Fasenko

There are numerous searches going on. The President search is ongoing. Chair Fasenko and other faculty are on the president search committee. Chair Fasenko was asked to provide names of faculty to participate in the controller and procurement officer search and she provided names from the Business school due to their experience in that area.

FS Vice-Chair, Karen Kopera-Frye

ADAC – there was an appeal for credit for prior experience to be translated into credit for a degree; it was voted down.

Department reviews are due mid-October.

There was a failed search for a director of assessment in the summertime.

Academic program reviews will commence Spring 2024. Each program is to have on outcome, at least to assess retention.

Mental health resources across campus are being addressed and Dr. Jagdish, Public Health Sciences, is doing a student peer mentoring program.

General Counsel – Vice Chair Kopera-Frye is on the search committee to replace Roy Collins. They'll begin interviewing candidates for general counsel on September 19.

7. Reports of Standing Committees - None

Budget and Resources
Faculty Success
Curriculum and Programming
Research and Creative Activity
Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
Student Success

- **8. New Business** None
- **9.** Unfinished Business None

10. Other Business

- <u>Chair Fasenko announced that Senator John Sandstrom was elected by the NTT</u> electing group to fill the vacant NTT seat on the Senate Leadership Committee.
- 2022-2023 Standing Committees caucusing Election of committee chairs <u>Each Standing Committee caucused and elected its committee chair.</u>

2023-2024 Standing Committee Chairs:

Budget & Resources: Vimal Chaitanya

Faculty Success:

Curriculum & Programming:

Research & Creative Activity:

Diversity, Equity & Inclusion:

Student Success:

Glen Duff

Gus Pina

Taryn Price

Jamie Bronstein

Tawny Aguirre

11. Remarks and Announcements

- **a.** FS Chair, Gaylene Fasenko

 <u>Chair Fasenko announced that Recording Secretary Podruchny is retiring and there is a position open to find a replacement.</u>
- b. FS Vice-Chair / SLC Chair, Karen Kopera-Frye UPAC – four programs were approved including: Organizational Communication Leadership, Masters of Art online, Geographic Information, Science and Technology, Master of Science was approved, Human Dimensions of Agriculture is going to be revised, and a Doctorate in Food Science

12. Adjournment - Meeting adjourned at 4:59 p.m.

Present: Chair Fasenko, Vice Chair Kopera-Frye, T. Aguirre, T. Allred, A. Ashley, F. Arslan, H. Badawy, H. Baek, S. Beck, O. Bello, C. Bond, F. Boutsen, J. Bronstein, M. Buenemann, V. Chaitanya, T. Conner, M. Darapuneni, G. Duff, D. Edgar, S. Ellis, M. Elshinawy, K. Finlator, K. Lopez Gallagher, E. Gamboa, R. Gioannini, B. Hampton, I. Hansen, T. Hearn, L. Hermanson, A. Lanasa, R. Lavoie, E. Lehnhoff, R. Li, S. Lynch, T. Manz, M. Mapp, J. Mullen, L. Olivas, G. Pina, T. Price, S. Ramos, J. Rice, A. Romero, L. Saiki, J. Schulz, K. Sharp-Hoskins, P. Skelton, P. Smoak, J. Tomaka, M. Valadez, S. Walker, W. Walker, RecSec. Podruchny, Parliamentarian LaPlue

Absent: S. Angadi, J. Flora, T. Cleveland, R. Figueroa, C. Erickson, S. Rahman, C. DeBlieck, S. Gordon, T. Schumacher, J. Sandstrom

Guests: Hannah Melick (GWU), Cynthia Wise (GSC), James McAteer (Assoc. Provost), Lindley Hornsby