FACULTY SENATE BUDGET AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Meeting Notes, April 11, 2023

Report prepared by Vimal Chaitanya, Chair FSBRC.

Guests Present: Ruth Johnston. Clayton Abbey

The committee members present included Amy Lanasa, Jim Hoffman, David Irwin, Timothy Cleveland, and Vimal Chaitanya. FS chair, Gaylene Fasenko was also present at the meeting.

Clayton Abbey was invited to give us an update on the legislative requests at the conclusion of legislative session. We wanted to learn more about the targeted faculty fund and the technology enhancement fund. The technology enhancement fund for the three research Universities was approved for \$45 Million last year, out of which \$25 Million was allowed for distribution through a competitive request mechanism to HED. Another \$30 M was approved for this fund during this year's legislative session. This year's appropriation may be directly given to the research universities with NMSU expected to receive about \$12-13 Million.

So far, \$4M was given as a match to the statewide NSF EPSCoR proposal. This match is mandated by the funding agency. Additionally, NMSU has been successful in securing three match commitments from these funds totaling about \$7 Million. The HED committee has two NMSU representatives – VPR Cifuentes and Tanner Schaub.

Following the legislative update from Clayton, the committee members discussed various options for the best use of appropriated targeted faculty fund of \$7 Million. NMSU expects to receive about \$1.1 Million. These funds can only be used for faculty salary and not for any other use such as startup funds for new faculty hires etc. The discussed options included salary compensation for faculty below the R2 institution average salary to using the funds for retention of productive faculty through counteroffers. Following this meeting, FS Chair Gaylene Fasenko drafted a memo seeking faculty vote about their individual preferences for the best use of these funds.