FACULTY SENATE BUDGET AND RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Meeting Notes, January 24, 2023

Report prepared by Vimal Chaitanya, Chair FSBRC.

Guests Present: VC Ruth Johnston, Dave Maddox, and Clayton Abbey. Additionally, the FS chair, Gaylene Fasenko was present. The committee members present included Chris Erickson, Amy Lanasa, Jim Hoffman, David Irwin, Mihai Niculescu, and Vimal Chaitanya.

Clayton Abbey presented update on the NMSU legislative requests.

- The State has \$3.6 B in new revenue this year in addition to the \$8.5 B FY 2022
- Funding for Specials, Capital Outlay, and RPSP in addition to I&G requests
- For faculty compensation, the executive branch and Legislative finance committee are suggesting respective 4% and 5% increase. Our request is 10% and is still being pursued.
- Additionally, there is a provision for \$7M for targeted faculty
- 2% increase in I&G allocation is suggested
- There will be support for match commitments for research like this year. Out of \$45M allotted, \$20M is authorized for FY 2023. HED is putting together committee to review requests.

Next Meeting: February 14, 2023, at 4 pm

Zoom Link: https://nmsu.zoom.us/j/96833025694

Agenda: Equitable Distribution of Faculty Compensation.

Invited Guest: Jon Boren, Director of Extension Services