NMSU Faculty Senate Meeting

January 12, 2023; 4:00 p.m. Milton 85 and Zoom

MINUTES

1. Call to Order - Meeting called to order at 4:05 p.m.

2. Recognition of Guests

FS Senate Chair Fasenko recognized and welcomed Regent Neal Bitsie.

3. Approval of Agenda

Motion to approve agenda made and seconded. Agenda approved.

4. Approval of Minutes of December 1, 2022 meeting

Moved and seconded to approve minutes.

Minutes unanimously approved as submitted.

5. Reports of Officers

FS Chair, Gaylene Fasenko - Report will be posted soon.

The first Provost candidate was on campus today. Faculty will have the opportunity to attend the candidates' sessions in January.

Chancellor Arvizu will be leaving NMSU at the end of his contract. The Board of regents approved for administration to begin looking for a search committee and faculty will have a voice in that search committee.

The position for Director in the Office of Institutional Equity closed in November and there were very few candidates. A search firm is being hired to assist with recruitment for this position.

Grad Student contract was voted on and accepted by the Board of Regents at a special meeting at the end of December 2022.

Received approval and encouragement from Vice Chancellor Johnston to have a faculty member designated as a spokesperson for faculty and work closely with the University Government Relations people. Discussions on procedure for selecting a faculty member in this role will continue this semester in Faculty Senate.

FS Vice-Chair, Jamie Bronstein - Report posted on FS website

6. Reports of Standing Committees

Budget and Resources

Committee Chair Chaitanya not available to provide committee report.

University Planning

Committee Chair Pina not available to provide committee report.

Curriculum and Programming

Committee met on December 6, and they had a guest from the office of Experiential Learning.

Erica Nikolaisen talked about some ambiguity in the waiver requests for the Viewing a Wider

World requirement. The next step is figuring out who processes those requests so they can begin fixing the language. The committee started working on evaluating ARP, Chapter 4.

See full CP committee report on FS website.

Research and Creative Activity

Committee met on December 6, and Tanner Schaub joined as a guest.

They had a brief discussion about the process of creating, evaluating, and sunsetting research centers on campus.

The committee has been tasked with reviewing ARP 11.01 and possibly work with the University Research Council on that issue.

See full RCA committee report on FS website.

Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion

Committee Chair Price not available to provide report.

Committee did not meet in December.

Student Success

<u>Senator Toups Dugas provided report summary in the absence of committee chair Cole-Dorn.</u>
Committee met on December 7.

The committee is working on the student absence policy: what counts as an excused absence and how do we change the language so that students have protection for an illness.

They are also working on Aggie Pathway to determine if it's working and if not, how to make it more successful.

See full SS committee report on FS website.

7. New Business

- **a. Proposition 04-22/23**: Proposed Policy on Academic Freedom (Bronstein (A&S), Beck (Library)) Assigned to University Planning Committee.
- **b.** FS Goals for Spring 2023 semester

Chair Fasenko discussed the possibility of adding another Faculty Senate standing committee entitled "Faculty Success" and asked for input. Further discussion will be needed.

Determine procedure and selection of someone from faculty senate, or faculty as a whole to serve as a voice for faculty at the legislature.

ARP 9.34 Part 3.E. states that a standing committee of the faculty senate will review the NMSU Rules on Faculty Evaluation, Promotion and Tenure. This is something that Faculty Senate should discuss and address.

Improve onboarding of new faculty – FS Chair working with Tony Marin to develop a website resource for faculty to assist troubleshooting when students have issues with a variety of topics. Faculty Senate input was and will continue to be sought on this topic.

8. Unfinished Business - None

9. Other Business

a. Policy Steering Committee

<u>Vice-Chair Bronstein and Chair Fasenko are members of this committee.</u>

Previously, a different structure for approval of policies was in place and University General Counsel wrote the policies. The policy was rewritten which created a new Policy Steering Committee (PSC).

Policies get introduced and they get voted on by the PSC. If the committee votes to move it forward, it goes into a stakeholder feedback system where it is looked at and revised.

Vice-Chair Bronstein submitted ARP 10.50 revision before winter break and the PSC voted in favor of moving it forward. This policy revision has been at a standstill for a couple of months and this is concerning. Chair Fasenko and Vice Chair Bronstein met with Sr. Associate Provost to discuss.

b. Speech from each FS Chair Nominee

Nominees for 2023-2024 Faculty Senate Chair, Jamie Bronstein and Gaylene Fasenko, presented their respective speech highlighting their experience and goals for faculty senate.

10. Remarks and Announcements

- **a.** FS Chair, Gaylene Fasenko

 <u>Faculty are encouraged to attend and/or watch the Provost candidates zoom forums.</u>
- **b.** FS Vice-Chair / SLC Chair, Jamie Bronstein No additional comments.

11. Adjournment - Meeting adjourned at 5:04 p.m.

Present: Chair Fasenko, Vice-Chair Bronstein, T. Aguirre, A. Ashley, F. Arslan, H. Badawy, L. Bittner, F. Boutsen, M. Buenemann, T. Cleveland, T. Conner, M. Darapuneni, C. DeBlieck, G. Duff, D. Edgar, M. Elshinawy, C. Erickson, M. Fahrenbruck, R. Figueroa, J. Flora, E. Gamboa, S. Gordon, N. Hamilton, I. Hansen, J. Hoffman, S-R Lee, E. Lehnhoff, T. Manz, S. Noe, L. Olivas, M. Papesh, G. Pina, S. Ramos, G. Romero, L. Saiki, R. Schultz-Chiovitti, J. Schulz, R. Schumacher, K. Sharp-Hoskins, P. Skelton, P. Toups Dugas, H. Wang, RecSec. Podruchny

Absent: A. Abdelkefi, T. Allred, S. Angadi, F. Arakawa, M. Burkardt, V. Chaitanya, T. Cole-Dorn, B. Hampton, W. Fedio, D. Irvin, D. Keys, K. Kopera-Frye, A. Lanasa, W. Lyra, M. Mapp, J. Mullen, M. Niculescu, T. Price, S. Rahman, A. Severson Lopez, J. Tomaka

Ex-officio members: Sr. Associate Provost J. McAteer (Provost office representative)

Guests: Student Regent N. Bitsie