NMSU Faculty Senate Meeting

March 6, 2025; 4:00 p.m. Hadley Hall Rm 130 and Zoom

AGENDA

1	1	~ II		^	
		Call	tΛ	()ra	ler

- 2. Approval of Agenda
- 3. Recognition of Guests
- 4. Approval of Minutes of February 6, 2025, meeting
- 5. Reports of Officers

FS Chair, Vimal Chaitanya FS Vice-Chair, Christopher Brown 03 Minutes 03 Minutes

18 Minutes

6. Reports of Standing Committees

- Budget and Resources Chair, Stephen Hanson
- University Planning Char, Erik Lehnhoff
- Curriculum and Planning Chair, Gustavo Piña
- Research and Creative Activity Chair, Paul Tian
- Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Chair, Karen Kopera-Frye
- Student Success Chair, Tawny Aguirre

7. New Business

• **Proposition 11-24/25** - Amendment to the Faculty Senate Constitution. **Sponsors:** Erickson (CoB), Walker (Extension).

8. Unfinished Business-

05 Minutes

• Proposition 10-24/25- Proposal for name change from the "Department of Civil Engineering" to the "Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering." Sponsor(s): Runwei Li (College of Engineering), Michaela Buenemann (College of Art and Science), Christopher Erickson (College of Business), Tawny Aguirre (Doña Ana Community College), Dylan McDonald (Library), Omar Holguin (College of Agricultural, Consumer and Environmental Sciences), Geoffrey Smith (College of Art and Science), Kristian Finlator (College of Art and Science), Jiayi Wang (College of Health, Education and Social Transformation), and Christopher Brown (College of Art and Science). Assigned to Curriculum and Planning.

9. Other Business –

Election of Senators for the 2025-2026 term (see <u>Senate Constitution</u>, Article IV Sections 2 and 3)
Vice Chair Brown

10. Remarks and Announcements

a. FS Chair, Vimal Chaitanya

02 Minutes

b. FS Vice-Chair / SLC Chair, Christopher Brown

02 Minutes

11. Adjournment