NMSU Faculty Senate Meeting September 5, 2024; 4:00 p.m.

DOM 109 and Zoom

AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order
- 2. Recognition of Guests
 - Lizely Madrigal, Director Instructional & Research Support with ICT
- 3. Approval of Agenda
- 4. Appointment of Parliamentarian and Recording Secretary
- 5. Approval of Minutes of May 2, 2024, meeting

6. Consent Calendar

 <u>Proposition 01-24/25</u> – Resolution Name change for the Department of Government to Department of Political Science, Public Law and Administration. Thaddieus Conner (A&S), Timothy Cleveland (A&S), Jamie Bronstein (A&S), Chris Erickson (CoB), Neil Harvey (A&S), Shofiqur Rahman (CoB), & William Walker (A&S).

7. Emergency Legislation

<u>Proposition 02-24/25</u> – Senate Bill Proposal to repeal the Amended Senate Bylaws passed at the 2 May 2024 Senate meeting. Sponsors = Chris Erickson (COB), Tawny Aguirre (DACC), Faruk Arslan (CoB), Nathan Brooks, (A&S), Christopher Brown (A&S), Thaddieus Conner (A&S), Kristian Finlator (A&S), Dylan McDonald (Library), John Sandstrom (Library), William Walker (A&S), and others to follow.

8. Reports of Officers

FS Chair, Vimal Chaitanya

FS Vice-Chair, Christopher Brown

9. Reports of Standing Committees

- Budget and Resources
- Faculty Success
- Curriculum and Programming
- Research and Creative Activity
- Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion
- Student Success

10. New Business

• <u>Proposition 03-24/25</u> – Senate Bill Clarifying Exceptions to Final Exam Requirements in ARP 4.50. K. Finlator (A&S); J. Burchett (A&S), M. Burkardt (NTT, A&S); J. Jackiewicz (A&S), M. Prescott (A&S).

11. Unfinished Business

- <u>Proposition 07-23/24</u> Senate Bill Call for NMSU leadership to establish a fund for open access article publishing/processing charges for tenured, tenure-eligible, and non-tenure-track faculty, research scientist, research scholars, research center directors, and librarians. Taryn Price-Lopez (DACC), Susan Beck (Library), Sangu Angadi (PES-ACES), Faruk Arslan (College of Business)
- <u>Proposition 09-23/24</u> Resolution Waiving Viewing the Wider World Classes. T Aguirre (DACC), M Elshinawy (Engineering), B Hampton (A&S), J Rice (HEST), M Valadez (DACC), T Allred (NMSU-A), T Conner (HEST), K Finlator (A&S), S Lynch (HEST), J Mullen (Engineering), M Mapp (A&S)

12. Other Business - NONE

13. Remarks and Announcements

- a. FS Chair, Vimal Chaitanya
- b. FS Vice-Chair / SLC Chair, Christopher Brown

14. Adjournment